THINGS I VALUE!

Posted: August 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

We have been back home for over 2 weeks now and I have finally gone back to work. Boy, I missed going to work. Although still sporting a vacation glow, it was fun cleaning and straightening out my office. While cleaning up I came across two items which may not have much monetary value but certainly are priceless to me.

The first item is an autographed hard copy of “Ball Four” written by Jim Bouton. In 1971 and 1972 I was doing an internship at WCBS-TV and worked with Jim Bouton assisting the associate producer with the 6pm sportscast. Bouton and I talked about sports, real life, family, sex and more sports. The autograph reads “To my main man Pete, a hard worker and a hellava guy.” 43 years, it has followed me all over, I love it and cherish it.

The next item I came across was a 7 or 8 pound rock which I dug out of the ground at a glacier when we went to Alaska in 2006. Maybe the rock is 100 years old, then again maybe its 10,000 years old. Whichever is right it only means something to me, to me it’s priceless.

On Friday, I was having lunch with one of my mentees. I have been mentoring him for over 10 years. For the first time his father and I were at the same place at the same time. When we were introduced he said to me “Thank you for opening your heart to my son.” Those simple words meant so much to me that it made my heart burst with pride. I thanked him and told him that his son was still going to do greater things.

Since I am now feeling a little nostalgic, today I wanted to acknowledge people and situations that have been of value to me over the years. Of course, I have to start with my Mom through which all lessons good and bad have been learned. They are just too many to list and detail. To my brother Richard, those early years were truly magical. The adventures we were on while growing up brings tears to my eyes even today. Nothing but good thoughts and good times!

My cousins Artie and Betty who have always demonstrated love and kindness even while dodging a deadly fork. Their mother (my aunt Lala) whose love for me was unconditional to the very end.

Samaria Christian church, for setting the foundation that I believe every young person should have while determining their life path. Aviation High School for making me believe that I was intellectually superior and to demonstrate it on a daily basis. Some say it’s closer to obnoxious than self confidant. I guess to each his own.

To some I will now recognize by name, just know that you contributed to things of value in my life whether through actions, thoughts or words. Nilsa Hernandez, my hero till the day I die. Ron Green,forever and always in my thoughts. Gil and Marcia Dominguez. Gil for those great tennis matches and Marcia for loving Jason. Raymond Broussard, for being great yet being humble at the same time.

WCBS-TV, George Dessart, Jim Bouton, Jim Jensen, Roland Smith and Dave Marash.

Irving Trust Company, for giving me an opportunity while still claiming I was over qualified for the job. Raymond and Gloria Mercado, Ray you always forced me to be better and try harder. You earned my love and respect. Gloria, for introducing me to chess, a lifetime passion. And introducing me to my wife till death do us part.

Shaking hands with Bobby Fischer at City Hall after beating Boris Spassky for the World Chess Championship.

Game 6, 1986 World Series, Mookie Wilson, Keith Hernandez, Gary Carter, Darryl Strawberry and Dwight Gooden. That’s a never ending smile.

Liberty Travel, Maria Squillante for taking through the comeback.

David Balavram, Jay Alenick, Vince Parente, Shelly Senzon, Maurice Sheraby and Mike Dembin the one and only person to cross my two worlds. Sports and Academics. Sylvia Knight and Aida Santana, know that all obstacles can be overcome. Tough times never last, tough people do! Stay tough. Cynthia Park, for opening my eyes.

Nicole Marengo, Kelisa Felice, Nelson Hernandez, Rashaad Green and Reinaldo Green.

My son Jason, If I have ever disappointed you I am truly sorry and thank you for loving me anyway!

My wife Lil is of course my heart and soul. She is my most valued partner. My love is neverending.

If you don’t know what you did in order to earn a shout out call me and I’ll remind you.

To those who I missed and disappointed or did not include; call me and remind me.

To all others, its my list and that’s the way I see it!

 

Comments
  1. Priscilla says:

    What I love about this time of year and starting to go back to the school year, is how you are able to reinvent AND reminisce. It is a wonderful gift. Glad you had a good summer break.

Leave a comment